Pork Chops

Yesterday I cooked pork chops in the solar oven.  The pork was actually some kind of boneless tenderloin, cut into pork chop like slices.  I put them into pieces, put them into the pot and added a can of chopped stewed tomatoes, a package of onion soup mix, a tablespoon of dried minced onion, a tablespoon of chili powder, and a sprinkle of garlic.  I preheated the solar for about 15 minutes while I prepared the pork and it was already at 200 degrees when I put the pork in at 11:30 a.m.  I checked on the pork at 2:30 p.m.. when I put in the rest of the meal.  The pork was done enough that I could break it apart into pieces, but I let it finish cooking until 5 pm with the corn and green beans and rolls.  The pork was so tender, it was falling apart, almost like a stew.  And delicious!  Although I added some salt to mine, Rod thought it was just fine.  I served this with steamed green beans and corn on the cob and hot rolls — all cooked in the solar oven.  We both thought that this would have been great over a bed of rice.

Leave a Reply

