Solar Omelets

Omelet Breakfast

What could be better on a sunny Sunday morning than an omelet , with ham, and onions, and bell pepper?  With hot biscuits on the side?  That was the thought in my head early this morning as I came down the stairs.   So, while Rod put the solar oven out to pre-heat, I pulled out the breakfast makings.  It is getting cooler in the mornings now, so we used the winter angle on the Sport and added the reflectors for additional heat.  The temperature rose to about 290 degrees by the end of the cooking.

First thing in the oven was the biscuits at 8:30 a.m..  I figured they would need a little head start.  I put two biscuits into each little pan.  I suppose I could have used a bigger pan, but the cooking space is pretty small, and this works well for us.  For the omelet, I used 4 scrambled eggs, about 3/4 cup of diced ham, a little salt,  and about 1/4 cup each of the onions and bell peppers, which I sauteed before adding to the mixture.  I poured the omelet mixture into a saucepan – again a space issue.   The omelet went into the oven at 9:15 a.m..  At that point, the biscuits were rising nicely.  At 10:00 a.m., the biscuits were cooked and browned, and  omelet was puffy and also very nicely browned.    Total breakfast cooking time was 1 1/2 hours.  The omelet tasted like an omelet and the biscuits tasted like biscuits.  Both were easy, simple, and delicious.

Biscuits and omelet in the oven.

Omelet mixture

Biscuits. The biscuits have already been baking for 30 minutes and have risen to the Omelet Breakfast

top of the pan.

You might  be interested in this solar omelet from East Valley Life.

5 thoughts on “Solar Omelets

    • Sharlene, thanks for the heads up. Is this just a problem with pictures on that one post or pictures on the whole blog? I’ll check to see if anyone else is having problems. I appreciated you letting me know there is a problem

Leave a Reply

