Swiss Steak

I love Swiss Steak served over a hot bed of rice, with a green salad on the side.  I used to cook this all day in the crock pot, because I like the meat to be very tender and falling apart into pieces.  But I have found that my solar oven can cook this delicious meal just as good, and even faster than my crock pot.

I start with a tender cut of beef.  I usually use small sirloin roasts, because it is usually cheaper and definitely more tender than round steak.  On this day, I was making a double recipe, so I used about two pounds of sirloin, cut into cubes.

Two pounds of sirloin roast, cut into cubes

Then I added two 15 oz cans of diced tomatoes with chilies.  Then I added two packets of onion soup mix for seasoning.

cubed sirloin with diced tomatoes with chilies

This cooked in the solar oven about 5 hours.  When done, the meat was falling apart and there was plenty of sauce to pour over a bed of rice. Yummy!

Swiss Steak

2 thoughts on “Swiss Steak

Leave a Reply

