Baked Pork Chops

As usual, I failed to plan ahead and take something out of the freezer the night before to thaw, so that I could get the solar oven out early.  So when I looked out and saw a beautiful blue sky with lots of sunshine, I was in a real dilemma.  I wanted to put something out in the oven, but everything was frozen.  I decided to try it anyway, and pulled out a package of pork chops.  I put the frozen pork chops into the granite ware pot, and seasoned them with salt and John Henry’s Mohave Garlic Pepper.

 

 

frozen pork chops

I did not add any water to the pan, because the pork chops would create their own broth when they cooked.  The pork chops baked in the GSO for about 4 hours, with an oven high temp of  250°.

 

Baked pork chops with cinnamon apples and corn

Just a note on John Henry, he is an award winning chef from my home state of Texas.  He has cooked for President’s, foreign dignitaries, and just plain folks.  His spices can be ordered from his website and purchased locally in many places.  Several years ago, Rod called the home office about some spices and ended up talking to John. Henry personally, who acted like they were long lost buddies catching up on their cooking adventures.  Now that is GREAT customer service.  Thanks, John Henry!

5 thoughts on “Baked Pork Chops

  1. That’s one of my favorite things about solar cooking — you can use frozen entries and they work perfectly! 250F is perfectly fine for cooking almost everything and that most folks don’t realize it’s much higher than the high on a crockpot! So, food is very safe. I don’t know that it matters, but you might want to change the link on my button to http://mainstreamsolarcooking.com I’ve still got to make the change on the copy and paste part, but it’s getting. I soooo love the new name better. It really reflects what I’m doing and I can feel it, every time I type it. Come visit when you can…

    Just posted on my other blog, Rockin’ Chair Reflections, Are Bullies Any Different From Gossips? http://bit.ly/hWLEiN

    • Hi, thanks for the nice comments. I’ll visit really soon and I’ll get the link fixed too. I’m working on getting a dedicated name as well, but it is going very slowly.

Leave a Reply

