Nacho Meatloaf in the Solar Oven

I am not overly fond of meatloaf.  Growing up, I ate a lot of meatloaf.  My mother stretched the beef as far as she could to feed our family.  Although I understand that fact now, it still left me with an aversion to the stuff — until I found this recipe which has all of the flavors that I love.  I usually serve this with cheesy mashed potatoes or Spanish rice and refried or pinto beans, and of course, jalapeño peppers.  My friend over at Solar Cooking for Mainstream Cooks cooks circles around me, but she inspired me to use my reversible pan to bake these little meatloaf cups.  Worked perfectly except that I forgot to put something under the pan and the grease dripped all over – what was I thinking?

 

Nacho Meatloaf with Spanish Rice recipe

Nacho Meatloaf with Spanish Rice

Nacho Meat Loaf

  • 1 cup thick tomato salsa (mild, medium, or hot according to your preference)
  • 3/4 cup nacho tortilla chips, finely crushed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp minced garlic ( or garlic powder)
  • 1 (4 oz) can diced green chilies (opt)
  • 1TBL chili powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 lbs very lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup (or more) Cheddar cheese or Mexi-Cheese blend, shredded

Pre-heat solar oven while preparing the ingredients.

Combine salsa, crushed tortilla chips, egg, onion, garlic, green chilies, chili powder, salt and cumin.  Mix well.  Add ground beef and mix until well combined.  Press into reversible baking pan or shape into a loaf and place in enamelware pot.   Place in heated solar oven.  I used the GSO.  Bake for 2 – 3 hours.  When done (or sooner), drain off grease as necessary.  Add cheese to top.  Place back in solar oven about 20 – 30 minutes to melt the cheese.

This recipe can be baked in the oven for 1 hour at 375°.  Then top with cheese and bake another 10 minutes.


Nacho Meatloaf recipe

Nacho Meatloaf cup

Nacho Meatloaf recipe

Nacho Meatloaf baking in the GSO

3 thoughts on “Nacho Meatloaf in the Solar Oven

  1. Aren’t those reversible pans fun! I love mine (and, thank you for the mention). I’m hoping you served this with lots of iced tea because that’s a lot of heat on that plate. But, using the pan makes the plate look so inviting. You’re cool, lady. So cool. But; using the GSO made clean-up so easy, no? It’s incredible. I had some kids knock over a demo for a pudding-type dessert, one time, and it spilled all over the oven. Just pulled out the hose and it was clean in just a minute without any hard scrubbing! For the grease spills that I have, on occasion, gotten (just like in my conventional oven), I use Dawn detergent and get the same fast clean-up time. Thanks for sharing. Have a great day and come visit when you can.

    • Well, that may seem like a lot of heat on the plate, the nacho meatloaf really isn’t very hot. Rod actually wanted to kick it up a bit more. It’s never too hot for him. Yes. clean up was easy. Just took a little soap and water. But I think the reason clean up was so easy is because the grease was not baked onto the oven, like it might have been in a conventional oven. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

