Kiri’s Chicken Curry in the Solar Oven

Last week, I told you that my friend Kiri had sent me two recipes that she had made in the solar oven, and shared the first recipe- Chicken Enchiladas.  Today, I am sharing her second recipe for Curry Chicken.  I was especially interested in this recipe because it is so different than what I usually make.

Chicken Curry baked in a solar oven

Chicken Curry over rice

Crock Pot  Curry Chicken

“I got this recipe off of PBS (special: America’s Crock Pot cooking –airs when they are fund raising).  Instead of putting everything in the crock pot, I just divided the ingredients between two pots and used the Sport Oven to do the cooking for me.  It came out delicious.”
¼ cup soy sauce
¼ cup apple cider vinegar
3 teasp. Curry powder
1 teasp. Each: Black pepper, garlic powder, ginger powder, cayenne powder, paprika.
3 cups water
2 Spanish onions cut into chucks (I always use whatever onions I have on hand which is usually yellow onions)
Chicken thighs (about 3 pounds)
Cook on medium high for 5 hours.
After done, debone chicken and chop up the meat.  Serve over rice.  Kiri
 My note —  Although the recipe does not call for carrots, I definitely see carrots in her photo.  I believe she may have cooked them in the second pot and added them to her chicken curry prior to serving.  I also love that she added some peas.  The color from the carrots and peas makes this dish eye appealing while the large chunks of chicken gives it a hearty, full look.  Thanks Kiri- I appreciate you sharing these recipes with me and everyone else.
2 thoughts on “Kiri’s Chicken Curry in the Solar Oven

  1. Love the idea of curry. Crock pot recipes are great for solar cooking; don’t you think? I’m being interviewed by our local TV station in the morning in preparation of our big Solar Cookout on August 4th. Try to create a menu for the big day. We’ve been having lots of rain, so I’m hoping it will be bright and sunny for the day.

    • How fun! I was interviewed once and it is fun. I always hate to wish away rain, but in this case, I hope the weather holds off until after your event. I’ll be waiting to hear the details.

Leave a Reply

