Toasted Coconut in the Solar Oven

Solar toasted coconut

Coconut toasted in a solar oven compared to untoasted coconut

This week as I was enjoying some of my favorite blogs, the blog from Around My Family Table caught my eye.  The subject was homemade marshmallows.  I never even thought about making homemade marshmallows before.  Did you?  Sounded interesting.  But it was the very first line that really caught my attention. She wrote, “It’s hot and sticky this time of year and I try to avoid turning on my oven.  However, you will have to turn on your oven to make these yummy toasted coconut and key lime marshmallows but it will only be for a few minutes.”  And I thought “No! Not me! I’m  not turning on my oven – even for this .”  As it turned out, the only thing the oven is used for is to toast the coconut that is put on the top.  So today, I toasted coconut in the solar oven.  It was so-o-o-o  easy.

Just put the coconut – I used sweetened – into a shallow pan and place in the solar oven.  I used the Global Sun Oven.  I knew it wouldn’t take long, so I intended to check on it in 30 minutes.  But I forgot – truth be known, I was involved in a round on Candy Crush on Facebook – and didn’t check it for 40 minutes.  WOW!  It was really, really toasted!!   Not over done, but a little less cooking would have been okay.

Solar Toasted Coconut

Coconut flakes toasting in the GSO

So if like me, you want to try the really great recipe for making homemade marshmallows over at AMFT, remember that you don’t really have to heat up your kitchen –even for a few minutes.

And if you like toasting coconut, try toasting pumpkin seeds and s’mores.

Leave a Reply

