Quick Banana Bread baked in a Solar Oven

banana bread made in a solar oven

Slices of banana bread baked in a solar oven

Although I make a lot of recipes from scratch, I often use boxed mixes and other conveniently pre-packaged food from the supermarket. The point of solar cooking is to cook a delicious meal using the free energy from the sun, not to challenge Bobby Flay for “Chopped” champion.  Last Saturday, I got home from running errands about 1pm. It was a beautiful sunny day and I decided that it would be a great day to set out the solar oven.  But it was already getting late, and I only had about 2 or 3 hours of sun left, so I knew I had to hurry. So I quickly set out the oven to pre-heat, and then  I grabbed a box of banana bread mix from the pantry. Two hours later, we had fresh hot banana bread for an afternoon snack.

Banana bread from mix

Pillsbury Banana Bread baked in a solar oven

Other quick breads baked in the solar oven

Banana Bread

Pumpkin Bread

Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Leave a Reply

